Have some soup and poppers at the Friendly Village

It is certainly not uncommon to have unusually warm weather during the winter in central Mississippi. We’ve had rain for days on end, but it’s a sunny day today with a pleasant 75 degrees outside. However, the rain is supposed to start up again tonight and will continue for several days with cooler temps coming in at the first of the week.  To give you a reason that there are so many sick folks right now, today’s high was 76, and Monday’s high will be 36. Yep, rather drastic changes.

As I’ve mentioned before, we love soups and stews during the fall and winter seasons. That being said, I still felt a little silly today when I set the dining room table for soup. It’s way too hot for it, but I’ll be glad of it on Monday!

100_3851

As most of you know, I love The Friendly Village by Johnson Brothers. When I first started tablescaping, I found many, many patterns of china that I love. However, I kept going back to The Friendly Village. I like the look of transferware a lot, and I love the muted browns, red, and greens of this pattern. To keep tablescaping costs down (not to mention having fun mixing and matching), I often just buy odd pieces of china that I find online or in antique malls. However, with The Friendly Village, I was completely, totally in love with it. It really is pretty common and not hard to find pieces of it.

So in late 2011, I started searching for it at the absolute cheapest price that I could get. I finally found it on Amazon, with one of their secondary sellers. The 24 piece set was really cheap (I don’t remember exactly how much now), and it came with the square salad plates that I really like.

One day it arrived. When I lifted the box to bring it inside, I heard it. The sound was unmistakable. I knew what it was. Before I went any further, I grabbed the camera. As I carefully unpacked the box, I snapped pictures at every point. After I got it unloaded, I actually felt fairly lucky. None of the dinner plates, salad plates, or mugs were broken. This particular set had three sizes of bowls, and I don’t remember how many of them were broken. But it was at least one of each size, and I think one of the sizes had either two or three broken. The box was not packed well at all. I could not believe how little packing material was in the box.

I emailed the seller and sent a few of the pics, telling him that I had more if he needed to see them.  I had figured out how much of a refund I wanted for those broken dishes because I still wanted to keep those that were whole (I did mention that I love this pattern, right?). Very quickly, he refunded that amount, and I was satisfied. I filled in the broken pieces with some eBay purchases in the next few weeks, so I was happy to finally have my Friendly Village set.

100_3852

I hope you agree that this was a good move for me when you see this table. I started with these round taupe placemats that my mother-in-law gave me recently. Then I added the dinner plate.

100_3859

Since I was setting the table for  soup, I added the soup bowl.  Because I was wanting to evoke a cold-weather feel (even though it is 75 outside), I used the mug. I really like the size of the mugs and use them often.

100_3853

You probably remember these napkins from previous ‘scapes. I purchased them from The Napkin Lady, and I really like how they look. I used a simple gold napkin ring and my Hampton Forge soup spoon.

100_3856

But the more important reason that I chose to use The Friendly Village in today’s tablescape is my new purchase. I was so excited to find this teapot online at a good price. I have mentioned several times that I like pitchers, and I also have a few tea and coffee pots in my collection. I elevated the teapot on a candle holder so that it would be more noticeable. I am looking for the creamer and sugar, and have been outbid a few times on eBay. I’m not worried because I am in no hurry and will get them sooner or later.

100_3857

I thought that I needed another teapot for some balance on the table, so I chose this vintage brown one. It was part of an inheritance and it is stamped Japan on the bottom. Other than that, I know nothing about its origin. I thought it needed some elevation and used a candle holder for it as well.

100_3860

The centerpiece is my “work horse” one from Wal-Mart. The black tray holds some wicker balls and a black candle holder. You have seen me use this tray in many different ways, and I will continue to do so. I really like decorative items that can be used in multiple ways.

100_3870

So now on to the poppers. I’ve been wanting to try some for a while, and finally did so today. I used the basic recipe from The Pioneer Woman. The only thing that I did differently was to not use the chopped green onion. I just couldn’t buy a whole bunch of green onions to use only one. You remember that I’m cheap, right? Her basic recipe says to brush with your favorite bottled or homemade BBQ sauce and that jellies or chutney work as well.

100_3872

This is what I had in the cabinet. It is called Captain Rodney’s Boucan Glaze. David got it at the store Christmas party. I decided that if I used it, I would not have to buy any BBQ sauce or jelly. I think I may have mentioned in the past that I am cheap.

100_3868

This is how they looked coming out of the oven. We loved them! They weren’t hard to make, just time consuming. But they were worth every second that we spent on them and then some. Now that we have mastered the basic recipe, I will experiment with different spices, cheeses, and flavors in the future. This recipe can really be adjusted to any taste. Enjoy!

For 36 poppers, you need 18 jalapenos, halved and seeded. Then stuff each half with a mixture of 8 oz. cream cheese and 1/2 cup sharp cheddar. {Her recipe adds one chopped green onion to the mixture.} Wrap each pepper with a half slice of bacon and secure with toothpicks. Because I did not want my peppers sitting in bacon drippings, I put them on the rack in my roasting pan. Brush with BBQ sauce or whatever you want. I think that they would also be good with no glaze at all. Her instructions said to bake at 275 for one hour. However, a little over half way through the cooking, I turned the oven up to 400 because of the other things that I was cooking today. I left them in and just watched them. They still took about an hour.   By the way, for my husband the diabetic, these were a great low-carb recipe. Enjoy!

I am joining: A Stroll Thru Life for Tabletop Tuesday (vignettes, tabletops, tablescapes), Home and Garden Thursday at A Delightsome Life (decorating, gardening, recipes, collecting), Vintage Thingie Thursday at Colorado Lady,   Sunny Simple Life (decorating, projects), Between Naps on the Porch for Tablescape Thursday (tablescapes) and Metamorphosis Monday, Masterpiece Monday at Boogieboard Cottage (crafts, home decor, thrifty finds),  Cozy Little House for Tweak it Tuesday (deocrating, garden, projects), Treasure Hunt Thursday at From My Front Porch to Yours,  Under the Table and Dreaming for Sunday Showcase (any project or idea made by you this week), Gratitude Sunday at A La Carte, The Charm of Home for Home Sweet Home (home & garden), Cuisine Kathleen for Let’s Dish (tablescapes), Make the Scene Monday at Alderberry Hill (home decor, projects, recipes), Cottage Style at Lavender Garden,   The Tablescaper for Seasonal Sunday (tablescapes),The Thrifty Groove for Thrifty Things Friday (thrifty decorating, tablescapes),Weekend Bloggy Reading at Serenity Now (recipes, crafts, home décor), Meet Me Monday at You Are Talking Too Much (projects, decorating, recipes),  Spotlight Saturday at Classy Clutter (recipes, crafts, home décor), Feathered Nest Friday at French Country Cottage (decorating, crafts), Frugalicious Friday at Finding Fabulous, Pink Saturday at How Sweet the Sound (anything pink),You’re Gonna Love It Tuesdays at Kathe with an E (recipes, crafts, home décor), Mop it Up Monday at I Should Be Mopping the Floor (projects, decor, recipes), Wow Us Wednesdays at Savvy Southern Style (recipes, crafts, home décor),  Make it Pretty Monday at The Dedicated House (decor, projects),Wow Us Wednesdays at Savvy Southern Style,  Creative Things at The Vintage Farmhouse,  Flaunt it Friday at Chic on a Shoestring (decor, projects, recipes),  Tuesday’s Treasures at Uncommon Suburbia (projects, decorating, recipes),  Return to Loveliness at A Delightsome Life (home decor, projects), Centerpiece Wednesday at The Style Sisters (centerpieces),Open House Party at No Minimalist Here (crafts, home décor), Time Travel Thursday at The Brambleberry Cottage (memories, projects), Tips and Tidbits at The Stone Gable(projects, home décor, recipes),Thursday Favorite Things at Katherine’s Corner (projects, home décor, recipes), Sizzle into Summer at DIY by Design (home décor, projects)

About Bev

I am a retired teacher who has only recently taken up tablescaping and blogging. For more information, see my About Bev link.
This entry was posted in Family, Recipes, Tablescapes, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Have some soup and poppers at the Friendly Village

  1. I too love the friendly Village dishes. How sad that some of them ere broken. I am pretty sure I won’t be making poppers. Yum, they do sound good.
    xo Jeanne

  2. I love your dishes and I’m glad you shared this tablescape with us. It was so warm here today but the cool weather is on it’s way. I love soup on those days! Thanks for joining my Gratitude Party!
    hugs, Linda

  3. Vicki Patton says:

    Our cooler weather arrived as well. Soup and poppers sound wonderful. On New Year’s Day, Dillards had a huge sale…everyone and their sisters were there. I bought the only two place settings of Friendly Village they had left for about $6. Love your tea pot. Blessings.

  4. kim/nannykim says:

    Oh, I have that set of dishes too—–well, not the set! I have about ten of the plates and I did buy a matching tea pot a few years ago. The Tea pot I purchased from ebay and when it arrived the handle was broken. I was so sad!! But I really wanted it and so I glued it and it works fine and dandy. I forgot to ask for a partial refund! It had been insured by the PO but they required you to give them the pot. So that is when I decided to glue it….

  5. Barbara F. says:

    I like that pattern too, and keep my eyes peeled for it at a really good price (I can barely squeeze in another dish, I have no room!). I also have tried that Captain Rodney’s stuff. It is so good. I bought it at a craft fair a couple of years ago, haven’t seen it again locally. Visiting from TT at Marty’s. xo

  6. Zuni\ says:

    Sounds like just the recipe i’m looking for! Thanks for sharing. Oh, and I love Friendly Village too. I have a full set as well. 🙂

  7. Love soup and poppers. This sounds sooooooo good. Love the friendly village pattern too. Thanks for joining TTT. Hugs, Marty

  8. Karen says:

    Love your Friendly Village. I just bid on some at shopgoodwill.com, but lost the bid (my husband was right next to me. I should have kept quiet. he thought $45 was too high for six dinner plates and 8 salad plates) Wahhh it was a great deal. They had some platters too. I love that sight and have seen a lot of this pattern there.
    Karen

  9. Pat@BPM says:

    I don’t have Friendly Village, even though it is a favorite. Your dishes are wonderful!

  10. Marigene says:

    The Friendly Village pattern is so pretty…plus the colors are great. We lover poppers!

  11. Debbie@Mountain Breaths says:

    The Friendly Village would be very welcome in my dish collection! Your dishes are fantastic!

  12. Tricia says:

    Yours was the first link I clicked from Kathleen’s Let’s Dish, because I love to see tables with Friendly Village! My daughter-in-law has a large set that was her grandmother’s, and I got to play with it recently — fun!

  13. Kathleen says:

    That is a lovely pattern! I cringed when I saw the broken pieces. I wonder why he didn’t pack it better?
    Lovely table, perfect for the day here!
    Thank you for joining us at Let’s Dish!

  14. Kitty says:

    I love the Friendly Village patten, too. I only have two salad plates and two mugs, but of course I want more. There’s just something about it that’s so endearing. The teapot is wonderful and I like it elevated. I’ll be on the look out for some more pieces for sure.

  15. Those temperatures are certainly extreme! We have snow now, with temps around 35-40. I too like that dish pattern. It must have been so sad to open the box and find the broken pieces. I had a similar experience with some Lenox dishes! My kids would love those poppers! Linda

  16. You were SUPER blessed for the seller to be so cooperative. You just never know how that kind of thing might turn out. I’m glad for you. What a wild temperature swing!!! We experienced something similar here in Missouri with close to 70 one day and half that the next. Weird! I’ve never had a popper…ever! I don’t know why. I love to eat, I love jalapenos, and who doesn’t love fun foods with fun names! But I have just never had one. I need to get crackin’ on that! Have a great week!

  17. The pattern is really cute and I love the shape of the teapot!

  18. Joni says:

    I do love the friendly Village set because they are so friendly and inviting! Your new teapot will be so welcome in your collection. I have never tried to make the poppers, but I love to eat them. Joni

  19. LaVoice says:

    Wish I lived nearby for your leftovers. I would enjoy it off a paper plate.

  20. The table is beautiful Bev. And I have always loved that pattern too. The food looks yummy. I have used the Pioneer Woman’s recipe for these poppers as well and everyone loved them. Thank you (ahead of time) for sharing at TTF this week. Have a fun day!

  21. Sarah says:

    Glad you got your set. It makes a beautiful tablescape.

  22. Mary J says:

    Love your dishes. Also here in central Mississippi and enjoyed our 2 1/2″ of snow on Wed. What a treat! Thank you for sharing your ideas, will be following.

  23. Christine says:

    Frienly Village are some of my favorite transferwares. So lovely on your table. I am also from MS in Natchez and I am so glad to see the sunshine again after days of non stop rain.

  24. Kathy says:

    The set is quite lovely – packaging dishes well is so very important. Our warm weather has gone for a while now! Hope you’re day is going well and I do appreciate you sharing with Home and Garden Thursday,
    Kathy

Leave a comment