Snow Day and Great Expectations

100_9130

The weather here is still very cold, and today we are under a winter storm warning and advisory. I know that doesn’t seem like much to the rest of the country, but it is a big deal here in the deep South. Lots of schools and businesses are closed, and I am comfortable staying home and doing nothing today!

100_9132

When I was growing up, we loved having snow days. Snow days were those one or two days a year that ice or snow would actually be bad enough to close schools and we could stay home and play in the snow. We didn’t get those days every year…usually only every two or three years would the weather be bad enough to declare a snow day.

100_9133

Occasionally the weather would be bad enough to miss more than 1 day, and we thought that was wonderful. Even as an adult, I always liked those snow days. Curling up on the sofa with a warm throw and watching mindless tv or reading a good book while the weather is raging outside is still an activity that I love.

100_9131

Recently I decided that I could have a snow day whenever I want…why wait for snow? From now on, when I am feeling burned out and need a reboot, I am going to declare a snow day! After a day inside of doing nothing, I am ready to get back to life as we know it and feel refreshed from my temporary escape.

100_9110

OK, that’s enough of my soapbox…on to the table. I know that all of my blue and white tables tend to look similar due to the fact that I use the same china and often the same accessories. However, I don’t really get tired of the look, and I love blue and silver at this time of the year. I think that the cool palette really evokes a wintry feel. Today I chose my silver chargers underneath my vintage Salem English Village dinner plates.

100_9111

I used my blue and white napkins in sparkly silver napkin rings to go with my color scheme. Of course, the Grosvenor silver is perfect for this table.

100_9112

For stemware, blue Dollar Tree goblets and silver eBay stems complement my place setting perfectly. I love the Dollar Tree glassware. Where would we tablescapers be without it?

100_9116

I have what seems like a plethora of table runners, and several of them have blue in the pattern. However, I do not have a runner in just blue and white. Note to self: Look for a blue and white table runner. Anyway, I decided to use one of my blue and white placemats as the runner for this table. It will do until I can find one to purchase.

100_9117

For the centerpiece I chose a silver compote from my wedding gifts.

100_9118

I also found another silver dish in the wedding gifts. I tossed a few blue stones in both to give them some sparkle.

100_9119

I found a set of 3 silver candlesticks a few years ago at  a flea market for a great price when I first began tablescaping. Note to self: purchase blue tapers.

100_9113

I finished off the table with my favorite blue pitchers.

100_9121

All four are Spode reproductions…made from the original molds. Over the weekend, I discovered to my dismay that my internet had stopped working. After doing everything that I knew to do with no success, I called the AT&T tech support. We determined that my modem had gone bad. It was over 10 years old, after all, and the life of a modem is supposed to be 3-4 years. Anyway, I ordered the U-Verse, and only had to wait a couple of days for installation.

100_9124

It’s really kind of weird to be offline, isn’t it? I did the basic things that I needed to do on my phone, but I really missed the surfing, looking at blogs, posting pics of a new tablescape, and the other things that you don’t really realize how much time you spend doing it until it’s gone!

100_9123

I was promised wonderful things with the U-Verse, and I anxiously awaited this miraculous internet with great expectations.

100_9122

To my surprise and chagrin, I saw virtually no difference in my internet before and after U-Verse. What happened to those miraculous speeds I had been promised? I was underwhelmed, but just glad to be back online, so it really didn’t matter that it was no different from before.

100_9120

Then this morning I photographed the first table that I had done since the new internet. The pictures uploaded in literally moments of time compared to before! It used to take so much longer to upload pics and even then would sometimes skip one. OK, I am now officially happy with the U-Verse and just glad to be connected with the world again. So for everyone out there, stay safe and warm, and have a happy Snow Day!

I am joining: A Stroll Thru Life for Tabletop Tuesday, Home and Garden Thursday at A Delightsome Life , Tablescape Tuesday at Every Day Living,   From the Farm at The Homesteading Hippy, Between Naps on the Porch for Tablescape Thursday,   Cozy Little House for Tweak it Tuesday,  Under the Table and Dreaming for Sunday Showcase ,  The Charm of Home for Home Sweet Home, Cuisine Kathleen for Let’s Dish, Masterpiece Monday at Boogieboard Cottage, Treasure Hunt Thursday at From My Front Porch to Yours,  Homemaking Party at Hope in Every Season,   The Tablescaper for Seasonal Sunday, What’s It Wednesday at Ivy and Elephants; Weekend Bloggy Reading at Serenity Now,   Spotlight Saturday at Classy Clutter, Feathered Nest Friday at French Country Cottage, Pink Saturday at How Sweet the Sound, You’re Gonna Love It Tuesdays at Kathe with an E, Mop it Up Monday at I Should Be Mopping the Floor , Wow Us Wednesdays at Savvy Southern Style ,  Make it Pretty Monday, Anything Blue Friday at The Dedicated House,  Create It Thursday at Lamberts Lately,   Flaunt it Friday at Chic on a Shoestring,  Tuesday’s Treasures at Uncommon Suburbia,  Return to Loveliness at A Delightsome Life, Centerpiece Wednesday at The Style Sisters, The Scoop at The Stone Gable, Thursday Favorite Things at Katherine’s Corner , Sizzle into Summer at DIY by Design

About Bev

I am a retired teacher who has only recently taken up tablescaping and blogging. For more information, see my About Bev link.
This entry was posted in Tablescapes, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Snow Day and Great Expectations

  1. Rosie M. says:

    Hi, Bev! I love your blue and white table. Those Salem Village dishes are outstanding and you’ve highlighted them so well with your silver and linens. So, so pretty. Rosie @ The Magic Hutch

  2. Zenda says:

    Lovely table, Bev! I’ve been busy doing this and that but after seeing your table, I’m inspired to set a blue and white table, too. We’ve got snow in the forecast for tomorrow, as well, so maybe that will be the day. Stay warm!

  3. mary says:

    I love your blue & white table! I am retired & still love a snow day! I love my U-Verse! Enjoy your future snow days this year!

  4. Kim says:

    Hi, Bev. I love all your blue and white. It makes for a beautiful table setting. I’m with you on the self-imposed snow day. When the kids were little, we called it “stay home day”. After the day to be home, together, to just “be”, we were rejuvenated to begin “normal” life the next day. Enjoy the snow while it melts. 😦

  5. Blue and white is perfect for a snow day table Bev! Your china is so pretty paired with silver and white. I love your philosophy of declaring a snow day whenever you feel burned out! You must live near me, I’m in Birmingham…we got just enough last night for a snowball or two, and it’s gone today. Hope that’s the last snow scare of the winter!
    Jenna

  6. lulu says:

    I like the idea of creating your own snow day which means you can have an “off” day any time. Your blue and white makes for a most attractive table.

  7. I like the blue and white- in fact the white tablecloth is like the snow for your table! The silver is a great cool color with everything and works perfectly! I need to go to the dollar store more often- I keep seeing all these bargains everyone else is getting! Good to hear something about u-verse. I want to try it too but so far it’s not available to my area yet.

  8. Marsha says:

    I love the combination of blue, white and silver and a fondness for your Salem English Village plates. They are beautiful plates that I would never get tired of seeing in various settings too. The village plates give the tablesetting a historical feeling of what a beautifully arranged table might be in the past, especially with your elegant white tablecloth. Nice work!

  9. angie says:

    awwwwww, i love your blue white china!!!!! hugs, angie from germany

  10. Laurie says:

    You can’t go wrong with a blue and white table (at least that’s what this blue and white lover thinks). This is so pretty, and you have some lovely silver pieces. Reading about snow days made me laugh. It sounded so familiar. I used to love snow days, and now I love when the snow forces me to stay home and relax. I probably wouldn’t feel that way if we had snow more often.

  11. allthatsjas says:

    Such lovely table setting. As for snow days, I like your idea. Although I’m sick and tired of snow I will be declaring snow day and hopefully taking time to rest and not do chores, LOL. Thanks for linking up at Thursday Favorite Things, hope to see you again this week.

  12. Sherry says:

    Your blue and white table is beautiful Bev! Here is sending you some sunshine soon! Thank you for sharing at Home Sweet Home!

Leave a comment