Yellow and Blue and Organizing, Too!

It is not normal for me to go a week between posts, but this week seems to have been crazier than usual. Since my last post, my stress level has increased significantly. Some of the issues are/were my husband’s medical appointments (now leveled out and relatively stress-free), issues with my parents and trying to help them out (big mistake; let them take care of their own issues), beginning preparations as co-director for our annual Passion Play at church (stress level never decreases here), trying to study for an antiques appraisal course (why did I start this at this time of year again?), and other things, too many to mention.

Right now I am at home waiting for a repairman because of some possible issues with my heating unit-yes, more stress.  What is a good way to tackle stress?

Relax! For me, what is a good way to relax? Blog and tablescape, of course! So the housework is piled up, errands have yet to be run, and the December books for our business are waiting for me to “get around to them.”  So what am I doing? Well, you’re reading this, right?

100_7121

As I went through some of my various tablescaping items searching for an inspiration for this table, I came across these April Cornell napkins. I actually purchased them some time ago and have not used them yet. With the blue background, yellow, green and red print, they will go with a number of different table settings. I thought for a few minutes and decided to stick with the blue.

100_7123

Because I want these napkins to be the star, I started with a plain white Dollar Tree placemat and topped it with my Salem plates. I love these plates!

100_7124

I have several napkin rings in my collection that would either match or bring out different colors of these napkins. Because I had used silver and blue last week, I settled on these nice brass ones. I really like them and I think they look great with these napkins.

100_7127

I also decided on my San Remo flatware. I liked the black with this place setting.

100_7126

I selected Dollar Tree flutes and my clear wine glasses for the glassware for this place setting.

100_7128

I had a lot of trouble deciding on a centerpiece. I tried several different variations of the above, and I still don’t think that I am totally satisfied with it. But it will do for now. I started with the yellow and blue pottery plate above and flanked it with antique yellow vases containing the only blue silk flowers that I could find in my tablescaping stash.

100_7130

This little vignette did not look right alone, so I added my cream-colored pillar candles on clear pedestals. This set is truly one of the best tablescaping items I have ever purchased. I use them all the time and they can be used in a large variety of ways.

100_7129

Because I did want to use just a little bit of  the other colors (red and green) in the napkins, I selected this vintage Salem bowl to finish off the look. I call the edge of this bowl “cabbage leaf,” even though I have no idea if this name is correct. I have seen these types of bowls in antique malls with the cabbage leaf decoration in green and light red also. I have a larger one with the yellow edge that has no center decoration which once belonged to my grandmother. I found this one in an antique mall and purchased it to match that one. The floral decal in the center has some red, yellow, green, and blue, so it is great with the napkins.

100_7131

I was pleased with the final look of the table and did feel somewhat more relaxed after finishing it.

100_7146

OK, you are probably going to find this next thing pretty nuts, but I love to organize. The middle drawer of the buffet holds all of my all-occasion napkins {my holiday napkins are elsewhere}. It was a jumble, which might be why I had forgotten about those cute napkins!

100_7135

So after finishing the table, I did a quick organizing project in the napkin drawer. I pulled out every single napkin and stacked them according to color. Obviously, this is the blue stack.

100_7139

If the napkins are printed, I tried to put them in the stack according to the most dominant color, such as these sunflower napkins in the green stack.

100_7141

I also have a large stack of browns, taupes, and other neutrals.

100_7137

Lots of white, which I don’t really use a whole lot but can’t bring myself to get rid of.

100_7140

I have only a few yellow ones.

100_7136

I have a few more pink than yellow napkins.

100_7142

I have one set of purple, one set of black, and a couple in shades of red.

100_7138

I have two sets in which orange is the dominant color.

100_7144

OK, are you ready? Wait for it, wait for it….

100_7145

Ta-da! Love this neatly organized drawer. Hopefully, I won’t forget about what I have again. In addition, I pulled out a few to sell at my booth. If you read my blog, you know that I don’t buy anything for tablescapes unless I get rid of something else. If I didn’t do that, my house would be taken over by dishes, napkins, placemats, and artificial flowers. [I’ve already been taken over by salt and pepper shakers, but that’s a different story.] I really don’t mind getting rid of placemats, tablecloths, and napkins, but the problem is that they just don’t sell very well, even when I price them very, very low. Right now I have some placemats and table runners up there, and I will add the napkins next week. Well, I’ll see! Hope they sell!

100_7134

As I prepare to sign off, I can tell that my stress level has dropped, so my goal was achieved! Hope everyone has a great, stress-free week!

I am joining: A Stroll Thru Life for Tabletop Tuesday, Home and Garden Thursday at A Delightsome Life , Vintage Thingie Thursday at Colorado Lady,   From the Farm at Sunny Simple Life, Between Naps on the Porch for Tablescape Thursday, Metamorphosis Monday, Masterpiece Monday at Boogieboard Cottage ,  Cozy Little House for Tweak it Tuesday,  Under the Table and Dreaming for Sunday Showcase ,  The Charm of Home for Home Sweet Home, Brown Gingham Creations for Rednesday,  Cuisine Kathleen for Let’s Dish, Treasure Hunt Thursday at From My Front Porch to Yours,  Make the Scene Monday at Alderberry Hill , Cottage Style at Lavender Garden, Homemaking Paty at Hope in Every Season,   The Tablescaper for Seasonal Sunday, The Thrifty Groove for Thrifty Things Friday, What’s It Wednesday at Ivy and Elephants; Weekend Bloggy Reading at Serenity Now, Meet Me Monday at You Are Talking Too Much,  Spotlight Saturday at Classy Clutter, Feathered Nest Friday at French Country Cottage, Pink Saturday at How Sweet the Sound, You’re Gonna Love It Tuesdays at Kathe with an E, Mop it Up Monday at I Should Be Mopping the Floor , Wow Us Wednesdays at Savvy Southern Style ,  Make it Pretty Monday, Anything Blue Friday at The Dedicated House,Wow Us Wednesdays at Savvy Southern Style,  Create It Thursday at Lamberts Lately,   Flaunt it Friday at Chic on a Shoestring,  Tuesday’s Treasures at Uncommon Suburbia,  Return to Loveliness at A Delightsome Life, Centerpiece Wednesday at The Style Sisters,Open House Party at No Minimalist Here Time Travel Thursday at The Brambleberry Cottage , Tips and Tidbits at The Stone Gable, Thursday Favorite Things at Katherine’s Corner , Sizzle into Summer at DIY by Design 

About Bev

I am a retired teacher who has only recently taken up tablescaping and blogging. For more information, see my About Bev link.
This entry was posted in Family, Tablescapes, Vignettes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Yellow and Blue and Organizing, Too!

  1. Rosie says:

    I love the blue and yellow of this table coordinated with your colorful napkins. The centerpiece turned out perfectly! I know what you about tablescaping reducing stress. When I was in the pre-op room before a recent surgery, I relaxed myself by planning tablescapes in my head! It worked!! Hope things calm down for you soon,
    Rosie @ The Magic Hutch

  2. jolynnpowers says:

    want to know if you have other blue and white plates for sale through your on line store.. I collect them and am always looking to add to my collection… Thanks Jolynn

  3. Marigene says:

    You can’t beat a blue and yellow table! Hope this week will be gentler to you, Bev.

  4. I think blogging and tablescaping are great stress relievers also! Love those napkins and as always you set a very sweet table. I like using plates as a centerpiece also. Thanks for sharing at TTF!

  5. Zuni says:

    Hi, Bev. Yep, playing with dishes and crystal and silver, AND organizing are sure ways for me to relax too! Your relaxation project turned out beautifully! I pretty much like any April Cornell item I see, and your napkins are right up there!

    Thanks for visiting and commenting on my snowy, cold January post. 🙂 ~Zuni

  6. Lois from PA says:

    Love the blue & yellow together…..and your April Cornell napkins are just lovely! I agree…stress does come down a few notches when doing a tablescape! For me its “Dressing Up” the new hutch! Stay Well! 🙂 Lois

  7. Love that little bowl with the yellow rim — I would searching high and low for more… but then that’s me.

  8. laurie says:

    One of my favorite color combinations – blue, white, and yellow. I like the way you made the napkins the star of the show, and you have such pretty vintage plates. laurie

  9. Pat says:

    Bev,
    NEXT time you’re stressed to the outer limits, dear one. . .
    you may come over and organize my napkins and placemats!!!
    AMAZING how you’ve organized yours by color palettes!
    Mine are organized by Seasons…
    which by the way, isn’t working well with this bi~polar Winter we’re experiencing on the Prairie!!! That’s probably one reason I haven’t set a tablescape in 2014!!!
    Hope 2014 holds wonderful events and joy as you experience the process of each one
    . . . one at a time!!!
    Fondly,
    Pat

  10. Sherry says:

    Very pretty. Hope your street levels out.

  11. So very pretty! You are one of the fan favorites at the Sunday Showcase from the Make it Pretty Monday party at The Dedicated House. Here is the link to the Showcase so you can check out your feature. http://thededicatedhouse.blogspot.com/2014/02/sunday-showcase-from-make-it-pretty.html Hope to see your prettiness again tomorrow at the bash! Toodles, Kathryn @TheDedicatedHouse

  12. blue and yellow!!!! ♥ ♥ Thank you for sharing at the Thursday Favorite Things Blog hop. Big Hugs ♥

Leave a comment