Birds, Nests, & Eggs (& an Invitation)

photo

I have had a busy couple of weeks, and I am expecting to be absolutely swamped the next 2-3 weeks. Our church will be producing its annual Passion Play, and my husband and I have integral parts behind the scenes, which pretty much take every waking moment the next few weeks.

100_4143

I hope that those of you near central Mississippi will join us. It is produced the Thursday, Friday, and Saturday before Easter. You can read more about it in my previous posts here, here, and here. It is an awesome and very moving production, and we do a great job for a bunch of amateurs, if I do say so myself.

100_7497

All of this Easter activity that has gone on the past month and will continue for the next few weeks will limit my tablescaping and blogging time considerably. I really wanted to do a table for Kathleen’s challenge this week, Birds, Nests, and Eggs.  I had this table somewhat planned in my head, although, as usual, it sort of evolved into more than my original thoughts.

100_7490

I started with my favorite china, Noritake Reverie. I will never tire of this pattern that I picked out when we married, and the soft colors and pattern are beautiful and perfect for a spring-themed table. I decided to put the pastel yellow napkin between the dinner and the salad plates for a little contrast.

100_7493

The Grosvenor silver was perfect with this place setting.

100_7491

I decided to use my Dollar Tree flutes and everyday wine glasses for this table.

100_7494

When I first read of Kathleen’s theme, I immediately thought of this beautiful Vietri Bowl that my son and daughter-in-law gave me for Christmas. A few days before, I had browsed the Dollar Tree with this tablescape in mind and had picked up some Easter grass and eggs.

100_7495

I loved the way the bowl ended up looking and was perfect for the challenge.

100_7504

I don’t have just a whole lot of bird things, but I did think of this love bird candy dish. David’s grandmother gave it to us when we married, and I added a little Easter grass and eggs to it as well. I liked the way it echoed the larger dish.

100_7505

Then I had a decision to make. I wanted to continue adding some bird-themed items that I have, but their colors did not necessarily go with my pastel yellow and green color palette. As you can see, birds won out over colors, so I apologize ahead of time for the disjointed color scheme. I decided to put a bird item at each place. David’s grandmother collected glass birds, and we had given her this sweet little hummingbird, which David’s mom returned to me after her death. My photo does not do it justice; it is really pretty and has lovely detail.

100_7499

This cute little china basket with birds on the handle is a very old one that I inherited from one of my female ancestors.

100_7506

It was hard to get a good photo of the bottom, but I hope you can see that it originally cost ten cents!

100_7501

This pitcher with this odd species of birds on it (I have no idea what they are) is one of my favorites. It belonged to my grandmother, and my daddy said that it always held molasses on their table when he was growing up. I love its delicate colors; the mark on the bottom says Germany.

100_7502

I put these little cobalt blue birds at the last place. These also once belonged to David’s grandmother. Then for the last touch, I found the Dollar Tree eggs from last year, and put one on each plate.

100_7508

Despite not following through with my original color scheme, I do like how the table turned out with birds and eggs throughout.

100_7500

I also need to mention that the last couple of days have been unusually cool and rainy for this time of year. As a matter of fact, the 2 rivers near us are on flood watch, and we have flash flood warnings throughout the area.

100_7510

Therefore, my normally dark dining room is even darker that usual, so I apologize ahead of time for the dark photos.

100_7498

The pastel colors do lighten it up some, so I was glad about that.

100_7512

I do have an Easter tablescape planned, and I should have time to do one at some point.

100_7496

But if you notice that I am not blogging much, you know why. Remember our play in your prayers the next couple of weeks as we plan to tell the story of Jesus and His triumph over Satan, a story that we never tire of and have told every Easter for over 25 years!

100_7503

He is not here; he has risen! Matthew 28:6

I am joining: A Stroll Thru Life for Tabletop Tuesday, Home and Garden Thursday at A Delightsome Life , Vintage Thingie Thursday at Colorado Lady,   From the Farm at Sunny Simple Life, Between Naps on the Porch for Tablescape Thursday, Metamorphosis Monday, Masterpiece Monday at Boogieboard Cottage ,  Cozy Little House for Tweak it Tuesday,  Under the Table and Dreaming for Sunday Showcase ,  The Charm of Home for Home Sweet Home, Brown Gingham Creations for Rednesday,  Cuisine Kathleen for Let’s Dish, Treasure Hunt Thursday at From My Front Porch to Yours,  Cottage Style at Lavender Garden, Homemaking Paty at Hope in Every Season,   The Tablescaper for Seasonal Sunday, The Thrifty Groove for Thrifty Things Friday, What’s It Wednesday at Ivy and Elephants; Weekend Bloggy Reading at Serenity Now, Meet Me Monday at You Are Talking Too Much,  Spotlight Saturday at Classy Clutter, Feathered Nest Friday at French Country Cottage, Pink Saturday at How Sweet the Sound, You’re Gonna Love It Tuesdays at Kathe with an E, Mop it Up Monday at I Should Be Mopping the Floor , Wow Us Wednesdays at Savvy Southern Style ,  Make it Pretty Monday, Anything Blue Friday at The Dedicated House,Wow Us Wednesdays at Savvy Southern Style,  Create It Thursday at Lamberts Lately,   Flaunt it Friday at Chic on a Shoestring,  Tuesday’s Treasures at Uncommon Suburbia,  Return to Loveliness at A Delightsome Life, Centerpiece Wednesday at The Style Sisters,Open House Party at No Minimalist HereTime Travel Thursday at The Brambleberry Cottage , The Scoop at The Stone Gable, Thursday Favorite Things at Katherine’s Corner , Sizzle into Summer at DIY by Design 

 

 

About Bev

I am a retired teacher who has only recently taken up tablescaping and blogging. For more information, see my About Bev link.
This entry was posted in Easter, Family, Spring, Tablescapes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Birds, Nests, & Eggs (& an Invitation)

  1. Rosie M. says:

    I really like your table, Bev, and am especially touched by all the heirloom pieces you get to use, with the memories they hold. I hope your production goes well and is appreciated by all. Rosie @ The Magic Hutch

  2. Vicky Hunt says:

    Your table is very festive. I love that china…so pretty! All the items you chose to use work well on the table and I like that they have stories behind them. I will pray for your church and members as you prepare for the play and pray you reach many of those who are lost. Have a blessed Monday my friend…Vicky

  3. Marti says:

    I love your tablescape. We must be close to the same age as I too got that china when I married. I still love it too though I seldom use it. I’m going to have to try it with pale yellow napkins. Those look great with it.

    • Bev says:

      I love hearing of someone else who has this gorgeous china because I don’t really see it all that much in blogland. Yes, it is lovely with yellow napkins; I also use pastel pink and soft green ones.

  4. Cindy says:

    I love your china! So pretty! I bet the play will be awesome! I can remember when I was a teenager being a part of our yearly Passion Play! We done the Passion play at my church several years ago too. Hugs and Blessings, Cindy

  5. Diane says:

    Bev – your favorite china is beautiful and I love all of the different ways you used the eggs. Hope your Passion Play goes well.

  6. Pam says:

    Love the Noritake china for it just sings spring! I love using great decorations from Dollar Tree, too. The bird accessories are lovely to use in this week’s challenge!
    Have a great week!

    Pam

  7. Liz @ Infuse With Liz says:

    You met the challenge nicely! Those are such pretty plates. My daughter was in several musical productions in High School and at the local theater so I know how many hours it takes to get a production ready. I’m sure it will be received with great emotion. Best wishes for a great outcome!

  8. Ellen says:

    The pastels go well with your lovely dishes.

  9. BettyMarie says:

    Love your china..very lovely setting!

  10. laurie says:

    As a bride you made a very wise choice of a china pattern. It’s so pretty, and the soft colors look like anything would look good with them, and you’ve proven that with your wonderful heirloom pieces you used. Your centerpiece bowl is so pretty, and the vintage pieces are especially wonderful since they have been in your family. I know the play will touch many hearts and souls. How wonderful to be a part of it. I have said a prayer for you and the other participants. laurie

  11. I hope the rivers have subsided by now. That must be really scary. We live very near a lake, and high waters are always a bit of a concern. Water is nothing to play with. When you tangle with water, water always wins! 😦

    You did a really nice job of capturing the spirit of the challenge theme! I’m glad you were able to take a bit of time away from your duties concerning the play to do a table.

    I’m not sure what you say to the people behind the scenes. If it’s “Break a leg!”, then do that! If it isn’t, then I wish you whatever it is that’s appropriate to say! 🙂

  12. Linda says:

    Bev, Your wedding dishes are so dainty and pretty and I can see why you like them! Your story of the molasses is so interesting. I wonder what the molasses were used for, maybe a topping for baked goods? Linda

  13. Sarah says:

    Always special when you use pieces from the family. Your dishes are lovely.
    All the best for a successful program.

  14. I love that china, understand why it’s a favorite to you. Best wishes with your church’s Passion play, and with the flooding – stay safe.
    Dawn @ We Call It Junkin.com

  15. Tricia says:

    What beautiful china! I don’t think I’ve ever seen that pattern before, but it’s gorgeous! I can see why you fell in love with it!

  16. I love your table, Bev and that each piece tells a story….I don’t think it’s disjointed; it’s quite lovely. Beautiful china! ❤❤

  17. I love that you have used a family heirloom at each place setting — makes everything that much more special. You’ve put together a lovely table! The Passion Play is always wonderful to see — hope everything goes well and that many will be touched.

  18. Marigene says:

    Beautiful china, Bev…you will have to do another table next month with it for Kathleen’s challenge using wedding china!

  19. Christine says:

    Hi Bev! I am very partial with yellow as evident in our FL. home. If you haven’t seen it, I posted our living room here which is mostly yellow so I hope you get to visit again. I love your table especially the yellow flowers on them. Have fun in the play, how exciting! Where in MS are you? I am still in FL but I am going home to MS on Sat…..Christine

  20. plutrell says:

    I can’t believe Easter is almost here. Thanks for sharing on the Thursday Blog hop!

  21. Kitty says:

    Hi Bev, you certainly met Kathleen’s challenge and all with your busy schedule. Your wedding china is such a beautiful pattern and you can use it for next month’s challenge again. Best of luck with your Passion Play. I know it will be a wonderful success.

  22. FABBY says:

    Beautiful wedding china, so soft and lovely for Easter. You met Kathleen’s challenge perfectly, she should be very happy! I love the small basket and the bird couple. Good luck with the Pasiion Play, how wonderful…can’t wait to hear all about it!
    FABBY

  23. dianne says:

    Love that china and the birds at each place setting is a wonderful idea. Dianne

  24. I’m sure that your passion play will be inspirational. I love your Reverie dishes…so beautiful. Isn’t it wonderful when we adore the pieces that we picked out oh so many years ago. Thanks for inviting us for a peek. Cherry Kay

  25. You and your husband’s commitment to the Passion Play is wonderful. I’m so happy that you’ll be sharing this post with Seasonal Sundays.

    -The Tablescaper

  26. Candy S says:

    I love the Reverie pattern, it is so delicately beautiful and so perfect for a Spring table. The heirloom birds are precious and a beautiful addition to each place setting. Good luck with the Passion Play.

  27. Ann Kricek says:

    Your china has such a pretty delicate pattern. Best wishes for your production, I am sure all of the hard work and hours you have put into your Passion Play will be well worth the efforts.

  28. katelaineransom says:

    The tablescape is lovely! I hope you have a blessed Easter! I do appreciate you sharing with Home and Garden Thursday,
    Kathy

Leave a comment